Infinity and Beyond

Imagination makes us aware of limitless possibilities. How many of us haven’t pondered the concept of infinity or imagined the possibility of time travel? In one of her poems, Emily Bronte likens imagination to a constant companion, but I prefer to think of it as a built-in entertainment system. Alexandra Adornetto
Circles are such a universal symbol of timelessness, eternity, cycles of life, completion, unity, regeneration and on and on.  The Celts used spiral and circles in so many of their decorations and I am intrigued by the never ending variety of them.

I found the background fabric for the spirals on a sale table in a shop in Virginia.  I couldn’t bear to cut it up, so decided to put the spirals on the top of each so the wonderful marbling on the fabric could still show.  The quilt is then outlined with random length blocks to show off the designs.  Aiden Meehan has done a series of books that are extremely helpful in drafting celtic designs and he also does a wonderful job of historical and developmental aspects of the designs.

Here are close ups of two of the spirals.

The quilts is 50×64 inches.  Designs are hand appliqued and the quilt is hand quilted in black thread.  Here’s a peek at the back.

2 - 1 (3)

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under applique, celtic design, quilting, quilts

10 responses to “Infinity and Beyond

  1. Your quilting is especially impressive!

  2. Nan! I thought that was machine stitched until I looked up close. Your stitches are so even. They are just wonderful! Love your appliqué!

  3. Celtic designs are like poetry themselves. There is always a new way to say something. Beautiful appliqué, beautiful quilting.

  4. So so beautiful Nan! I wish I could appliqué with such fluidity. Did you needle turn as you go? What method do you recommend, or books do recommend to start learning?

  5. Hi Nan!-
    Thank you so much for sharing your reverse applique method with me:). I gave it a try on my Splendid Sampler quilt and blogged about it today. I know I have a long way to go, but I am determined to get this needle applique down. It will definitely be a SWEET day when I do!:)
    Thank you, thank you again,
    Tracy:)

Leave a Reply

