Once in a hundred year flowers

“It is said there are flowers that bloom only once in a hundred years. Why should there not be some that bloom once in a thousand, in ten thousand years? Perhaps we never know about them simply because this “once in a thousand years” has come today.”
― Yevgeny Zamyatin, We

20140705-225456-82496923.jpg

I have to admit to not being a big fan of Kaffe Fassett fabrics. While I enjoy the splashes of color and the vibrancy those provide, I have difficulty feeling comfortable using them. After finishing my recent quilt ” the flower garden”, I had a big stack of scraps left. Wanting to get them out of my stash, I decided to strip piece them together, then do some additional slash and mash.

I actually like the end result and wildness that is ultimately created. Then I decided to add some pseudo flowers in appliqué in the center.

20140705-230249-82969568.jpg

My favorite fence to do photos on has disappeared because of losing a tree in the yard, so I had to switch spots. The new place has garlic and oregano growing in front of it. But, I rather like the blossoms on the garlic!

20140705-230526-83126506.jpg

The center section is appliquéd and quilted by hand. The border was stitch in the ditch quilted by machine.

I think this will become the new favorite comfort/cuddle quilt!

14 Comments

Filed under applique, quilting, quilts

14 responses to “Once in a hundred year flowers

  1. This is stunning Nan! I love what you did with the Kaffe fabrics and your appliqué is gorgeous!

  2. Beautiful, exquisite applique. I love how the discipline of the applique and the straight lines is set off by the vivid, splashy print scraps.

  3. The strip piecing and reorganizing them (along with the dark lines) really is an effective way to ease that sense of “being too much.” The blend is beautiful! I love your imaginary flowers!

  4. I am totally in love with this one!!!! The center appliques are the perfect contrast to the “wildness” of the border and the quilting is spot on!!!! Wonderful finish. It would be my new fave, too!!! Hugs…………

  5. Oooh, this is fabulous. I, too, am not the biggest fan of Kaffe Fassett fabrics, but you’ve used them to great effect here and the flowers in the middle are truly fantastic. Great job!

Leave a Reply

