Bridges of Madison County

“The human heart has a way of making itself large again even after it’s been broken into a million pieces.”
― Robert James Waller, The Bridges of Madison County
20140621-160432-57872066.jpg

I just made a trip back to Iowa to bury my parents. Life must go on. On the way home we visited Winterset, Iowa, childhood home of John Wayne, home of Fons and Porter and the area of the “Bridges of Madison County”.

20140621-160926-58166016.jpg

The wall hanging reminds me of my parents that loved to watch the birds in the feeders right out the window at their table.

The pattern is from “Painted Appliqué” by Linda Poole. I’ve been having fun with the Derwent Inktense pencils. The piece uses machine and hand appliqué and is hand quilted.

9 Comments

Filed under Quilts, quilting, applique

9 responses to “Bridges of Madison County

  1. Wishing you and your family many blessings in this difficult time.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss, Nan. I love your wall hanging and how it reminds you of your parents. It is a stunning tribute and one I’m sure will warm your heart when you look at it and think of them.

  3. Oh how hard it must have been to say those final good-byes. My deepest sympathy.

  4. My condolences… I’m so glad you have something to remind you of your parents and their love for nature.

  5. My thoughts and prayers are with you during this time of loss. The quilt is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

