Tea with Mother

Whether our relationship is strained or easy, hostile or amiable, we need our mother if only in memory …to conjugate our history, validate our femaleness and guide our way.
~ Victoria Secunda

coverThe last few years of my mother’s life were difficult – not what you want to remember as a daughter.  I turned into the bad guy – making the hard decisions that she couldn’t make like moving out of her home, moving into a care facility, having a knee replacement and telling her that her youngest daughter had died.  I didn’t enjoy being the “bad guy”.  I was actually out shopping at a quilt shop the morning that she died.  I had purchased this applique pattern “Morning Glory: A celebration in Applique” by Lori Smith.  I’ve just completed it about 8 months after her death and just a couple of weeks before her committal service.  bl2The applique square were not set in the same way as the pattern suggested.  I used a William Morris border print to create the square within the square.  Each square has a batik that complements the design.bl1The squares are outlined with black and a light lavendar sashing.

bl3The squares are hand appliqued.

bl4The sashing is quilted with a light lavendar thread.

bl5The size of a quilting is varied in the inside border and the outside border

bl6quiltingThe quilt is approximately 62×62.  It is hand appliqued and hand quilted.

May your relationship and memories of your mother be sweet!

9 Comments

Filed under applique, hand applique, hand quilting, quilting, quilts, William Morris

9 responses to “Tea with Mother

  1. You are fortunate to have had your mother so long, and this quilt is a fitting tribute. Mine died when I was in my early 20s, so I will never have to face the difficulties you have, but I didn’t have the pleasure of her company so long, either. You have made me think that perhaps it’s time I made something to commemorate her. Thank you.

  2. I think I have the best mother ever! And your quilt is amazingly beautiful. Love you, Mom!

  3. Beautiful quilt, what a lovely heirloom , sure it will be cherished by generations to come.

  4. Lovely work enjoy the quilt

  5. You creative beautiful quilts! Sorry about your mother! I am headed in the same direction with mine. Thanks for liking my post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

