My Twist on a Garden

“A garden should make you feel you’ve entered privileged space — a place not just set apart but reverberant — and it seems to me that, to achieve this, the gardener must put some kind of twist on the existing landscape, turn its prose into something nearer poetry.”
Michael Pollan, Second Nature: A Gardener’s Education

While I have been churning out quilt tops for charity, I’ve also been putting the finishing touches on my “Flower Garden” a design/pattern by Kim McLean.  flowergarden

I had difficulty finding a place to photograph the whole thing – this almost worked!  It is 96×96 and fits nicely on my queen size bed.  This was a real challenge for me because it was using a very different palette than I’m used to using and very bright colors.  The fabrics are Kaffe Fassett’s with some hand dyed batiks and some purchased batiks.

flower1

I actually had my doubts about it as I was making it.  I took it to a retreat with a group of friends and they gave me encouragement to keep on.

flower2What really pulled it all together in the end was the 1″square borders around each block.

flower4It is all hand quilted and for each square I chose a slightly different pattern to use.

flower6I was not crazy about the border that was designed with the pattern, so I modified it abit.

borderdetailI liked the effect of some open space on the border.  In that open space, I used the flower, leaf and vine designs and hand quilted those motifs into the border.

cornerdetailI know this is much longer than my usual post, but I hope that you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed bringing it to completion!

Happy Spring!

 

 

 

26 Comments

Filed under applique, batiks, garden, hand applique, hand quilting

26 responses to “My Twist on a Garden

  1. Nan – this quilt is DIVINE! I just LOVE your work!

    • Thanks Lisa! Your admiration means a lot to me because I love your stuff. I keep resisting getting further into surface design but one of these days, it will get the best of me…

  2. This is amazing! Even more so because you hand-quilted the whole thing! I’ve never done applique – that’s all by hand, too, right? Very gorgeous!

  3. Quite beautiful, and very accomplished. I’m so glad you pushed through and finished it. I simply don’t have the vast patience needed to do a project like this, although I’ve always wanted to do one of her Lollipop Trees quilts with Kaffe Fassett fabrics. Well done!

  4. Loved the post……..absolutely NOT too long!!!!! That is gorgeous!!!! It’s very much like the style of applique that Edyta Sitar uses and I love that style, too. So worth the efforts put into it………the border is superb!!! I’m out of adjectives/superlatives!!!!! LOL!!!!!

  5. A very happy quilt. It will brighten up a room. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

  6. Beautiful, just wish I had the time

  7. deedeemallon

    Masterful quilting. Gorgeous colors. I was shocked, actually, to reD it’s not your usual palette because the color combos are so nice.

  8. This is just so crazy cool. I can not even dream of doing something like this. I tried appliqué a time or two and decided it wasn’t for me. Makes me appreciate it even more! Beautiful!

  9. Oh, it’s just wonderful!

  10. This is a beautiful quilt. Thank you for sharing it.

  11. Beautiful work! What a unique quilt. Thank you for stopping by our site. Please come back as there will be even more quilts and fun stories. Are there any quilt trails in Utah? They are popping up all over the US and Canada.

  12. Wow! I’m glad your friends talked you into persevering! It’s stunning- and I love your border mods.

  13. Thank you for stopping by

  14. Kem

    thank u for sharing, this is a wonderful, amazing quilt 🙂

  15. How gorgeous! I’m absolutely speechless.

Leave a Reply

