Fibonacci sequence and quilting

“It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.”
Mother Teresa

The quilt guild that I belong to is very involved in making quilts and other items for charity.  We support several local non profits – Family Promise, YWCA, school districts needy program, provide quilts for police officer and fire vehicles for frightened children.  We have local businesses that donate fabric and also have individuals that donate to our group.  I recently went “shopping” at the guild’s stash and picked up several yards of fabric to make some quilts.

I have been wanting to try out a quilt designed around the Fibonacci sequence.  1, 2, 3, 5, 8.  These probably weren’t the most ideal fabrics, but the process was still fun and creative.  I carried the 2 and 3 over into the border also.

 

fibonacci

 

The top is 55×72 inches and was machine pieced.  I still have several yards of these fabrics left, so I will have to devise a way to put them together!

6 Comments

Filed under charity, fibonacci, quilting, quilting design, quilts

6 responses to “Fibonacci sequence and quilting

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog and Liking me. I do admire you for hand quilting so much of your work. I have only one hand quilted item in my collection, and it took months, so I’ve never attempted it again for a large quilt, only for small items. Do drop by again to see what progress I’m making (if any!)

  2. Beautiful! I appreciate you dropping by to visit and share about your hand quilting. Anyone who handquilts is a hero in my book!

  3. Thank you for visiting and liking my blog, My Tempestuous Marriage to Painting. I created art quilts for 11 years but never learned hand-quilting because of arthritis in my hands. I’ve always considered quilters the most loving people in the creative arts. Again and again, I saw people work for months on a quilt and then give it to someone. Wow!

  4. I’m so glad you stopped by my site. I was to thrilled to see that you worked the Fibonocci sequence into a quilting pattern! I love it! Intriguing work. I’ll be back. 🙂

  5. Interesting idea – not sure how you used it – can’t exactly tell from the photo.

Leave a Reply

