Falling leaves and changing dimensions

“You expected to be sad in the fall. Part of you died each year when the leaves fell from the trees and their branches were bare against the wind and the cold, wintery light. But you knew there would always be the spring, as you knew the river would flow again after it was frozen. When the cold rains kept on and killed the spring, it was as though a young person died for no reason.”
Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

Fall has come and for me it brings a changed dimension to my life.  My mother has recently passed away and I find myself the oldest one left in my family.  I guess that means I must take on some of the crone or matriarch.  Right now I’m feeling more crone like than wise like a matriarch. Like spring that I know will come, my joy now comes from my children, niece and grandchildren!

I’ve gotten way behind on my hand quilting.  Too many quilts ready to go and not enough time to quilt them.  So I decided to do some machine quilting.  Last spring my quilt group had a several day retreat and one of the women  was working on a couple of seminole pieced quilts.  It gave me the itch to try one out on my own.  So here it is!

seminoleIt is 56×72 inches.  The fabrics are mostly batiks with the addition of some others.  It is machine quilted in the ditch. The hand applique designs on the edge are adapted from a Menominee pattern.

seminole2I used a wool batt so it is quite puffy!

seminole3

2 Comments

Filed under applique, batiks, hand applique, machine quilting, quilting, quilts, Seminole pieceing

2 responses to “Falling leaves and changing dimensions

  1. Good morning. Your quilt is lovely! I like it so much, I’m showing it off in my new blog post. http://catbirdquilts.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/design-process-blog-inspiration/

  2. I love the use of the batiks in a Seminole piece…they compliment one another very well! Thank-you for your visit to my blog…come again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

