Quilting for others

“When we give cheerfully and accept gratefully, everyone is blessed.”
Maya Angelou

I meet with a wonderful group of women around the topic of quilting.  We all love to do it and all have a larger vision of the world than just quilting.  Therefore, as a group we are deeply involved in quilting for causes, as well as quilting for the love, satisfaction and need of it.  We have several groups that we are involved with including Family Promise, YWCA.  Currently we are working with several other guilds in the state to provide quilts to peace officers for children in stressful situations.  We meet weekly at a local church and we donate a quilt to the church for their use.  Sometimes they have someone special in the church they want to recognize and sometimes they have a raffle to raise money.  This year, this is the quilt that we are donating.  I made the top, a friend of mine in the guild, machine quilted it and returned it to me for binding.  It is ready for the next phase of its life.

 

charity1

It is about 65×80.  Machine pieced, machine appliqued and machine quilted.

charity2The applique pieces are satin stitched with Sulky rayon thread.

charity3The free motion quilting was done by a friend in the guild.

4 Comments

Filed under machine applique, machine quilting, quilting

4 responses to “Quilting for others

  1. Lovely. And good timing. I’ve been mulling the issue of quilting for others as compared to quilting for just myself. There are a lot of layers to the issue, so it isn’t clear where one part leaves off and the other begins.

    Thanks for sharing — the quilt and so much more.

    • Just like the layers of a quilt – what are we doing for ourselves and what are we doing for others? It’s just so meaningful to give away something that is a part of you. It’s also very different than giving to someone you know when you know how it will be cared for and loved! A letting go….

  2. Your work is beautiful. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog. Well, you saw my mother’s and sister’s work. They are both pretty incredible quilters but my sister seems to have taken to it like a duck to water. She dreams quilting. I haven’t tried it yet. I don’t know why. It’s an incredible art form and I love it that it started out out of necessity for women who were poor and needed to reuse old clothes and materials for blankets.

    • Thank you so much! I count myself lucky as I come from a long line of quilters. I have family quilts made by my grandmother and great grandmother. They made them for very different reasons than I do, but I still think its a part of my genetic makeup!

Leave a Reply

