Transformation of the Butterfly

The process of healing and trying to deal with my sister’s death continues her journey. My husband had a beautiful card for me when I returned home. “If nothing ever changed, there would be no butterflies.” Jean always referred to her experience as a journey or a process. Butterflies provide such a beautiful comparison for this part of our journey.

“What the caterpillar calls the end, the rest of the world calls a butterfly.”
― Lao Tzu

About three years ago I finished a quilt with butterflies.

20121105-085405.jpg

I used several of the specialty embroidery stitches on my sewing machine to enhance the butterflies.

20121105-085544.jpg

20121105-085612.jpg

I’m thinking today about my sister and how she could leave her cocoon /pain behind and achieve the freedom from pain for which she longed.

Size: 62×80
Machine appliqué, hand quilting, batiks, sulky nylon thread to enhance the designs
Completed: 2008

20121105-085739.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under applique, cancer, dying with cancer, hand quilting, healing, inspired by other design, machine applique, poetry, quilting

One response to “Transformation of the Butterfly

  1. KrisR

    Your loving reflections on your sister and your process of dealing with it all is heart-warming. Be well.

Leave a Reply

