The final passage

The last few weeks of my sister’s journey with cancer have been painful for her and painful for her family as we stood by helplessly and watched her slowly go away from us. She was a beautiful person, full of love and devoted to those around her. I began this quilt in late summer when we knew there was little hope of her recovery. I put the last stitches in the quilt late this afternoon and told her about her quilt when it was done. I told her that no one could have a better sister than the one that I have. By two o’clock the next morning she made the next step on her journey and left her pain behind and left a huge hole in our hearts.

20121017-050143.jpg

Not a great photo, but considering its late at night or early in the morning, it’s the best I could manage right now.

The imagery is meant to suggest leaving the dark and pain behind and slipping into the light and gaining her wings of freedom. She is my only sister/sibling. I have to believe she is in a safer, more peaceful, calmer, pain free place. My heart aches with the missing of her already.

Size: 52×52
Finished: October 17, 2012. 4:30pm ET, West Chester, Ohio

10 Comments

Filed under applique, art quilt, cancer, Celtic, dying with cancer, hand applique, hand quilting, original designs

10 responses to “The final passage

  1. KrisR

    I am so sorry for your loss. I can only imagine the ache you are feeling.

  2. My heart goes out to you … it is so very hard to say goodbye, but this beautiful quilt is a lovely reminder of her! x

  3. What a beautiful quilt. I am so sorry for your loss.

  4. I am sorry for your loss as well.

  5. Franki Kohler

    Nan, your beautiful quilt will be a gentle reminder of the time you shared with your sister. I think you will have no regrets. Peace.

  6. I’m very sorry for your loss.

  7. Such beauty from such pain. The light even enters the dark side, and the lines intersecting & playing around can be free! I also am sorry for your loss, I hope by now, there are less days where you ache with sadness, and can remember the fun times you two shared.

Leave a Reply

