The circle of life

We were told there would be good days and there would be bad days. What you can understand intellectually and the living of it on an minute by minute and hour by hour basis are concepts that exist in different dimensions. The cycling of hope, despair, anger, resentment, and unfinished business is incredibly painful. And to be sharing that experience with a group of people (brother in law and niece ) that don’t have common backgrounds and experiences are in the least eye-opening and can be painful and hurtful. Which reminds me of another quilt that I made and brings me back to the basics of life – my needle, my thread and my thimble. I’m not fully dressed or prepared for the day without my thimble. It goes on before my glasses!

20120929-231510.jpg

The compass of life is shattered into the four corners but the circle of life condenses into the beautiful. Except, when you are experiencing the circle of life from a macroscopic perspective you can’t see the beauty of the circle.

I know that my sister’s circle will soon be beautifully complete but I am struggling with why it is so hard and painful to join that circle into completeness.

Finished: 2009
Size: 60×60
Machine pieced, hand appliquéd, hand quilted

20120929-232220.jpg

Hand quilted from the back in variegated, multi colored thread with a similar design to the circle of life. Back is solid back.

Leave a comment

Filed under applique, art quilt, dying with cancer, original designs, quilting, traditional block

Leave a Reply

