Dreaming of Spring

My sister continues her struggle with cancer, right now we’re working on trying to find the right balance for more effective pain control. This has meant giving up some decision making on her part because of the fuzziness caused by the pain control drugs. We did have a wonderful couple of day visit from her niece- my daughter and grandson. It was wonderful to see my sister light up and laugh and share good memories! This seemed to me like a little springtime in the midst of some ugly weather on our journey. Here is my interpretation of springtime.

20120924-224156.jpg

If I am recalling correctly, I think the blocks are called railroad tracks. I love Jinny Beyer’s. Quilters album of Patchwork Patterns
and always turn to that resource for inspiration. I arranged the blocks to go from lighter to darker top corner to bottom corner. Then I stenciled a feathery plant with purple berries onto the upper left corner. Well actually, the berries weren’t stenciled but put on with a pencil eraser! On top of the feathery plant, I the appliquéd tulips.

20120924-225202.jpg

Today, I needed a little spring in my life. So this was it!

Finished: 2000
Size: 60×72
Hand appliquéd, hand quilted, additional surface design

6 Comments

Filed under applique, art quilt, cancer, dying with cancer, inspired by other design, quilting, shiva paint stiks, stencil, surface design, traditional block

6 responses to “Dreaming of Spring

  1. Adrienne

    Nan, Beautiful quilt and beautiful words. I am so sorry to hear about your sister. I pray for comfort for you both!

  2. fretbzzz

    I can’t stop watching the way the darks and lights dance with each other at the zig-zag.The light fabric of the railroad design looks like sky– like you should just be able to reach through and touch it and feel cool air.

  3. Susan

    Incredible symbolism in this gorgeous quilt as well…the dark lower right is the deep valley you are in as your sister works her way to the light upper left. My prayers are with your entire family. There is no right or fair about cancer and I am so sorry you are having to deal with it. You are such a blessing to your sister and your whole family. Keep on stitching and know that others are lifting you and your sister up in prayer.

  4. Hi Nan, I just popped in for a look after recieving your comment on my post. Your quilts are spectacular and I’ll be sure to pass on the link to your site to the quilting ladies here in Western Australia.

  5. This is beautiful, Nan! I’ll look forward to seeing more.

Leave a Reply

