Portrait quilts

It all started with a degraded photo of a grandson from a preschool photo.

20120831-014730.jpg
Then came a study in off whites

20120831-015421.jpg
Eyes are always my downfall!! So for the new one, I chose photos with eyes downward!
What is it about eyes? The key to the soul? I can’t capture them….
These are my treasures…. Beyond compare! I got to spend time with them all camping and hiking in the extraordinary world of southern Utah this summer. Life doesn’t get any better than this!,

My three boys

20120831-020542.jpg

20120831-020652.jpg

20120831-021120.jpg

20120831-020753.jpg

20120831-121943.jpg

Size: 28×60
Finished: 2012
Hand quilted and hand appliqued

7 Comments

Filed under art quilt, hand applique, hand quilting, original designs, portrait quilt, quilting

7 responses to “Portrait quilts

  1. Your quilts are beautiful! I was so excited to find your blog while browsing the “quilting” category. I also make portrait quilts and yours are amazing. Feel free to check mine out… I think we use different techniques. I’d love to hear any tips and tricks you’ve learned along the way and would be happy to share mine, too. Its cool that you “posterized” the photographs and went off of that new image.

    • Thank you for your kind comments. I went to your ETSY site to check out your portraits. I really like them alot! Do you draw your full size patterns from the photos? How do you like working through ETSY? I have been “lurking” around there for awhile but have never found anyone that is actually making it work for them. Good luck!

  2. fretbzzz

    Keep blogging mom! This is wonderful! I hope you make lots of new friends in the quilting world! — and, this summer’s trip was the best ever! 😉 love you

  3. Wow! Those portraits are amazing!!! I did a paper pieced one of my son, and the nose kind of got lost… LOL! Live and learn, right?! I wonder if I could do one without a nose?

    Your applique is just perfect!

  4. p.s. I live in the Ogden area! We’re neighbors! LOL!

  5. I love love love your portraits. I have always wanted to have a go but have no where to learn. I may have to have a go one day xx

Leave a Reply

